Model freshness audit · By Adam Johnstone · Updated 2026-09-13

Which bundles are running current models — and which are two generations behind.

A bundle is a wrapper around someone else’s models, so the only question that matters is which models, at what size, updated how often. Nobody in this category audits that. This page does, with a date on it, because “access to leading AI models” is a marketing phrase and a model picker is a fact.

The audit

Which bundle runs which generation.

Checked 13 September 2026 against each vendor’s own pages. This is re-run and re-dated rather than written once.

ToolModels advertisedGenerationDo the vendor’s own pages agree?Shipping activity
ChatHubGPT-6 Astra, Claude Opus 5, Gemini 3.1 ProCurrentModel page current; pricing page still says GPT-5 / Claude 4.5; docs still say GPT-4oDocs changelog frozen since 18 Nov 2025
SiderGPT-5.5, Claude Opus 4.6, Gemini 3.1 ProCurrentHomepage and credit-rules page agreeFive dated releases in 2026, latest 1 Sep
MultipleChatGPT-6 Astra, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.8 FlashCurrent generation, but Flash-class GeminiHomepage says Gemini 3.8 Flash; subscription page says 3.7No public changelog
MonicaStore: GPT-5.2, Claude 4.5 Sonnet, Gemini 3 Pro. Homepage: GPT-5.5, Claude 4.7 OpusCurrent, but sources disagreeThree official surfaces name three different sets; help centre still lists GPT-4o and Claude 3.5Extension updated 6 Aug 2026
Merlino3, GPT 4.1, Claude 3.7 Sonnet, Gemini 2.5, Grok 3Two generations behindQuery-cost table prices only retired models and carries no dateOne changelog entry in all of 2026
TypingMindWhatever your API key reachesYou control itChangelog lists model additions within days of releaseLatest entry 11 Sep 2026
You.comNot disclosedNot applicableAPIs internalise model choice; provider not publishedAPI launches through 2026

“Generation” compares what the vendor advertises against the current frontier releases. A tool is not marked behind for offering cheaper models — only for advertising nothing current. Sources are on each tool’s page.

Why this is the check that matters

Three things the audit exposes.

Merlin advertises nothing current

Its site names o3, GPT 4.1, Claude 3.7 Sonnet and Gemini 2.5 — no GPT-5, no Claude 4, no Gemini 3 anywhere. Its official query-cost table prices only retired models. One third-party page claims GPT-5.2 and Claude Opus 4.6, and nothing Merlin publishes supports that. Open the model picker before you pay; it takes thirty seconds.

Model class is not model name

MultipleChat advertises Gemini 3.8 Flash. Flash is Google’s fast, cheap tier — a $19.99 Google AI Pro subscriber gets the Pro-class model. A bundle can be on the current generation and still be giving you a materially smaller model than the plan you cancelled.

Vendors contradict themselves

ChatHub’s model page is current while its own pricing page advertises a generation older and its docs two generations older. Monica’s store listing, homepage and help centre name three different model sets. Whichever page you happened to land on decided what you thought you were buying.

Shipping activity is a leading indicator

Sider shipped five dated releases in 2026. TypingMind adds models within days of release. Merlin’s public changelog has a single 2026 entry. A tool that has stopped announcing is a tool whose model list will keep drifting.

FAQ

Questions this page answers.

Which AI bundle has the newest models?

ChatHub, Sider and MultipleChat all advertise current-generation models as of 13 September 2026, and TypingMind reaches whatever your own API key does. Merlin is the outlier: its public site names nothing newer than o3, GPT 4.1, Claude 3.7 Sonnet and Gemini 2.5.

How do I check which model a bundle actually serves?

Open the model picker inside the product and read the exact names, including the size suffix. That single check answers more than any feature list, because vendors advertise model families rather than variants — “Gemini” covers both a Flash-class and a Pro-class model at very different quality and cost.

Why do bundles lag behind the native apps?

Bundles reach models through commercial APIs, so they get a model when the provider exposes it and when the bundle pays for that tier. That is usually fast for chat models and slow for anything native-only. It also means a bundle can silently swap a model out — MultipleChat's terms reserve the right to change versions, including downgrades, without notice.

What does Flash-class versus Pro-class mean?

Providers ship several sizes of the same model family. Google's Flash tier is optimised for speed and cost; the Pro tier is the larger, stronger model. A bundle advertising “Gemini 3.8” may be giving you either. If a page does not state the variant, assume the cheaper one and verify.

How often is this audit updated?

It carries the date it was last run, and the date is the point. An undated model list in this category is worthless within weeks — during 2026 alone Sider replaced its plan lineup, Monica renamed its tiers and ChatHub discontinued lifetime licences.