Comparison matrix · By Adam Johnstone · Updated 2026-09-13

Seven AI bundles, 23 criteria, one table.

Not a feature checklist. These are the rows that actually decide the purchase — what you pay, which model class you get, what stops you, what happens to your data, and how long you have to change your mind. Every cell reflects what the vendor publishes as of 13 September 2026.

The matrix

Everything side by side.

Green means published and competitive. Amber means partial, approximate or third-party. Red means the vendor does not publish it, or publishes something that counts against them. Scroll sideways on narrow screens.

Compare onMultipleChatChatHubSiderTypingMindMonicaMerlinYou.com
Pricing modelSubscriptionSubscriptionSubscriptionOne-time licenceSubscriptionSubscriptionMetered per 1,000 calls
Entry paid price$20/mo$14.99/mo annualNot published$39 once$9.90/mo (third-party)~$19/mo (conflicting)$5 per 1k calls
Top consumer price$90/mo$24.99/mo annualNot published$99 once + API costs$99.90/mo (third-party)Not published$1,200 per 1k calls
Price readable on vendor siteYesYesNo — JS-renderedYesNo — none in page textNo — JS-renderedYes
Free tier~15 msgs/day, legacy modelsExists, undocumented30 credits/dayNo saved chat history0 advanced credits102 queries/day100 queries/day
Model generation advertisedCurrentCurrentCurrentYour keys — anyCurrent, sources disagreeTwo generations behindNot applicable
Model class disclosedGemini is Flash-class; others not statedBasic vs Advanced tiers namedNamed per modelYou choose exactlyNoNoNot applicable
Usage cap unitMessages/day (approximate)Queries/month (exact)Credits (allowance not published)None — provider limits onlyCredits (costs stale)Queries (costs stale)Calls (exact)
Caps published as numbersApproximate onlyYesCosts yes, allowance noNot applicablePartlyOnly for retired modelsYes
Context window publishedNoNoNoSet by your modelNoNoNot applicable
OCR on scanned documentsYesNot documentedYesVia your modelImage-only PDFs rejectedYesNot applicable
Exports finished filesDOCX, PPTX, XLSX, PDFNoNot publishedArtifacts and canvasNot publishedNot publishedJSON / Markdown
Team plan$25 and $95 per seatNoneNot published$83–$249/mo, SSO and RBACNot launched$15/seat, 5 minEnterprise only
Written no-training commitmentYesYesNo — reserves broad rightsYesPolicy silentUnclearNot established
DPA availableYes, GDPR Art. 28Not documentedNot documentedYesNot documentedYes, on requestNot established
Data location statedAzure SwitzerlandLocal browser storageNot statedYour own browserNot statedNot statedNot established
Retention periods publishedFull schedulePDFs 24h99 years for account data90 days for inactive freeNone30 days for contentNot established
Refund windowEffectively noneNot published7 days annual, if <500 credits14 daysNot published3 daysNot applicable
PlatformWeb, desktop, AndroidWeb, extension, desktop, mobileExtension, desktop, mobile, webWeb / PWA, self-hostExtension, desktop, mobileExtension, web, mobileAPI only
Browser extensionNoYesChrome, Edge, SafariNoChrome, EdgeChrome, EdgeNo
Chrome install baseNo extension200,0005,000,000No extension3,000,000900,000No extension
Independent review footprint26 Trustpilot at 3.3, 2 G212 G2 at 4.2114,300 Chrome ratings at 4.9Active changelog, reviewedMixed, 3.2–4.4 across sites8,800 Chrome ratings at 4.8Enterprise press coverage
Last shipped (public)Not publishedExtension Aug 2026Sep 2026Sep 2026Extension Aug 2026One 2026 changelog entry2026 API launches

Each column links to that tool’s full page, where every figure carries its source. “Not published” means exactly that — the vendor does not disclose it, and no figure has been substituted from a third party without being labelled.

What the table shows

Four things you only see by lining them up.

Nobody publishes a context window

Across all seven tools, not one states a context window for any tier. In a category whose entire pitch is access to large models, the single number that governs how much of your document the model can actually see is missing everywhere.

Three of seven hide their prices

Sider and Merlin render pricing in JavaScript. Monica publishes no subscription price in page text anywhere, including on G2. A price you cannot read before signing up is a fact about the vendor, not just about the page.

“Unlimited” is never unlimited

Merlin’s CEO confirmed accounts were suspended above roughly $100 a month of usage. ChatHub’s Unlimited tier publishes no fair-use threshold. Assume a soft cap and find it during the refund window.

Only one tool produces files

Six of seven give you text in a chat window. If your work ends in a .docx, .pptx or .xlsx, the comparison collapses to one row and the field collapses to one tool.

By job

Start from what you are doing.

If you need to…Start withWhyCheck first
Produce finished documents or decksMultipleChatThe only tool here exporting .docx, .pptx and multi-sheet .xlsxGemini is Flash-class; message caps are approximate; refunds are effectively unavailable
Compare several models on one promptChatHubSix panes at once, and the clearest published caps in the categoryThe free tier is undocumented and there is no team plan
Work inside web pages all daySiderLargest install base, fastest 2026 release cadence, documented OCRPrices are not readable, and the policy holds account data for 99 years
Keep costs low or data localTypingMindOne-time licence, your own API keys, data in your own browserYour API bill scales with context length, not message count
Get the widest feature surfaceMonicaAgent, deep research, slides, PDF chat, translation in one extensionNo published prices, no training clause, no team plans
Research with source-restricted modesMerlinAcademic and Social focus modes genuinely change retrievalOpen the model picker first — the public site advertises nothing current
Build an agent that searches the webYou.comResearch API with citations, five effort tiersIt is no longer a consumer subscription at all

Native plans

What you are comparing against.

A bundle only saves money if it replaces two or more of these. Prices checked 13 September 2026.

ProviderEntryMidTopThe limit that matters
ChatGPTGo $8Plus $20Pro $100 / $200No fixed message cap published; Pro tiers are 5× and 20× Plus
ClaudePro $20 ($17 annual)Max $100Max $200200k context on every tier; rolling 5-hour sessions plus weekly caps
Google GeminiAI Plus $4.99AI Pro $19.99AI Ultra $99.99 / $199.99AI Pro is 4× free limits — and is Pro-class, not Flash
Microsoft CopilotM365 Personal $9.99M365 Premium $19.99—AI features are owner-only and cannot be shared with family members
PerplexityPro $20—Max $200 / $2,000 yrMax includes 10,000 credits/mo; one mega task can consume 2,400–9,800

No bundle reproduces native-only surfaces: Claude Code and Cowork, ChatGPT’s Codex and Sora, Copilot inside Word and Excel, or Perplexity’s Comet. Those are not exposed through the APIs bundles are built on, so a bundle supplements a native plan in those workflows rather than replacing it.

FAQ

Questions this table answers.

Which AI bundle publishes the clearest usage limits?

ChatHub. It is the only tool here that publishes exact monthly figures for basic queries, advanced queries, image credits and document uploads on both paid tiers. Sider publishes detailed per-action credit costs but never states how many credits a plan includes. Merlin's cost table prices only retired models. MultipleChat's message counts are explicitly approximate.

Which AI tools do not publish their prices?

Three of seven. Sider and Merlin render their pricing pages in JavaScript, so no figure appears in page text. Monica publishes no subscription price anywhere in page text, including on its G2 listing — every Monica price in circulation is third-party. This is unusual enough to be worth weighting in a buying decision.

Does any AI bundle publish its context window?

No. Not one of the seven publishes a context window for any tier. TypingMind is the only partial exception, and only because you choose the model yourself and inherit its native window. For a category selling access to large models, this is a striking gap.

Which AI bundle is best for privacy?

TypingMind structurally — chats and API keys stay in your browser and requests go directly to the provider, so the claim rests on architecture rather than policy. MultipleChat documents the most: a full retention schedule, Swiss hosting and a GDPR Article 28 DPA. Monica documents the least: no retention periods, no training clause, no DPA.

Which AI bundle exports real documents?

Only MultipleChat, which produces .docx, .pptx and multi-sheet .xlsx files directly. The browser assistants are built for reading and summarising rather than producing. If your output is a finished file rather than a chat transcript, this single row narrows the field to one.

Which AI bundles have team plans?

TypingMind Teams from $83 a month for five seats, rising to $249 with SSO, RBAC and audit logs. MultipleChat at $25 and $95 per seat. Merlin Teams at $15 a seat with a five-seat minimum. ChatHub has none, and Monica confirms team plans have not launched.

What is the shortest refund window?

Merlin at three days. Sider allows seven days on annual plans but only if fewer than 500 credits have been used. TypingMind gives fourteen. MultipleChat's terms state that creating an account before sending any message permanently waives refund rights. Check this before you buy, not after.